Reduced Marriage Fee - Educator's Statement
Minnesota Statutes Chapter 517Revised: July 22, 2010
In order to qualify for the Reduced Fee Marriage License of $40, the applicants must present an Educator's Statement at the time of applying for the license. The Statement must be in the format defined by MS 517.08 Subd 1b (c).
This education must be provided by: a licensed or ordained minister, or the minister's designee, or a person authorized to solemnize marriage under 517.18; or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy (under 148B.33)
(Must be at least 2l years of age)
The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
RequirementsThe Educator's Statement must:
- Be on their letterhead, or in a letter format that is notarized, or has a church seal.
- Must be dated and signed by Educator.
- Include both parties full names as they appear on the marriage license application (including middle names).
Summary of the Educator's Statement(Must be written according to MN Statute as follows:)
"I, (name of educator), confirm that (names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18 or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statute 148B.33."
The marriage application is only valid for 6 months, if at the end of that time the same couple needs to reapply for another license, they will also need to submit another statement from the Educator indicating the same information above.
Incomplete StatementThe MN Statutes are specific, so if Educator's Statement is incomplete, another will have to be requested by the couple before a license can be issued.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our office.