To apply for a marriage license, the applicants must be at least eighteen years of age. Parental consent is required if an applicant is under the age of 18. The applicants must appear in person together with Identification.
Fill out the Marriage License Application (PDF) prior to coming into the Recorder's Office and complete and bring it to the Itasca County Recorder for processing. If you cannot download the application, please call 218-327-2856 to request an application. Applications are also available at the Itasca County Recorder's Office. The license is valid for 6 months in the State of Minnesota only. There are no refunds. As of August 1st, 2016, there is no waiting period.
Prior to Ceremony
Whether you complete the marriage license application online or in our office, before your marriage ceremony, both parties* must appear together in the recorder's office to sign the marriage license and pay the required fees.
*Some exclusions apply.
The processing fee is $115 without Premarital Education. With the proof of completion of 12 hours of Premarital Education, the fee is $40. The educator must be a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. See Premarital Education Statement page for more information.
If an applicant has a felony conviction for a crime committed on or after August 1, 2000 and want to change their name with the marriage process, additional documents are necessary and delays of up to 30 days may occur. Please contact the local office for details.
For further information, please contact our office at 218-327-2856.